608-286-1001     Email Us            

2018 Honorees

WCMA Life Member: Jeff Wideman

The WCMA Life Member Award recognizes persons that have played a significant role in the success of the Wisconsin Cheeses Makers Association through leadership, support or service to this institution and its activities.

Jeff Wideman grew up on a dairy farm in Juda, Wisconsin and went to work for the dairy cooperative where his parents were farmer patrons. It was there, under the tutelage of two Swiss cheesemakers, Hans and Sep Jaeggi, that his career began. Wideman is a Wisconsin Master Cheesemaker with certifications in Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheeses.  The leading force at Maple Leaf Cheese for decades, Jeff has been an innovator in the specialty of premium cheeses, winning numerous awards for his creations.  Jeff is a partner and investor in Ms. J & Co., a sheep farming venture with the goal of improving flock genetics in the Assaf breed in the United States.  Jeff is a Past President of WCMA, and is currently serving his third six-year term on the WCMA Board of Directors.

5906 ICTE 2018

Cheese Industry Champion Awards

Cheese Industry Champion awards recognize industry leaders who have created tremendous opportunity for others and spurred industry growth.

4390 ICTE 2018

Mark Davis of Davisco

4412 ICTE 2018

Dolores Wheeler of Gossner Foods

Distinguished Service Awards

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes persons that have helped to grow the United States dairy industry and are valued by cheesemakers as trusted partners.

4437 ICTE 2018

Jim Banks of Banks Consulting

4466 ICTE 2018

John Nelson of Nelson-Jameson, Inc.

Vanguard Awards

The Vanguard Award is intended to recognize cheesemakers or cheese manufacturing employees whose work helped to blaze new trails in dairy operations.

4483 ICTE 2018

Ray Dyke, formerly of Agri-Mark and Cabot Creamery Cooperative

4499 ICTE 2018

Gary Grossen of UW Babcock Hall Dairy

Babcock Awards

The Babcock Award is, of course, named for Stephen Babcock, the famed agricultural chemist and University of Wisconsin professor credited with developing a method to determine the butterfat content of milk, a test which helped to establish Wisconsin as a dairy leader.  The award recognizes the contributions of those in education or affiliate organizations to partner with cheesemakers in the pursuit of dairy industry innovation and excellence.

4531 ICTE 2018 (1)

Dr. David Barbano of Cornell University

4551 ICTE 2018

Dr. Purnendu C. Vasavada of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls