Part of WCMA’s mission is to recognize those in our industry who have been instrumental in building a foundation for the future success of the dairy industry. We depend on members to help us in this effort, by nominating peers and friends for recognition.

2020 Honorees

WCMA Life Member: Roger Krohn

The WCMA Life Member Award recognizes persons that have played a significant role in the success of the Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association through leadership, support or service to this institution and its activities.

A third-generation cheesemaker, Roger Krohn began his career at age 14 working in a family business alongside his father.  Now, with more than 40 years in the business, Krohn is certified as a Wisconsin Master Cheesemaker for Mozzarella and Provolone cheeses.  Krohn is Cheese Technical Manager for the Luxemburg location of Agropur where he produces award-winning cheese varieties.  Roger Krohn is a long-time and active member of WCMA, having served as on the Association’s Board of Directors, including as President from 1998-2000.

WCMA Cheese Industry Champion Awards

WCMA Cheese Industry Champion awards recognize industry leaders who have created tremendous opportunity for others and spurred industry growth.

Submit nominations for the 2021 WCMA Cheese Industry Champion Awards by Tuesday, August 25.

Max Gonzenbach (L) and Rudy Nef (R) of Valley       Wilbur Nielsen of Wapsie Valley Creamery                           

Queen Cheese Factory in Milbank, South Dakota. 

WCMA Distinguished Service Awards

The WCMA Distinguished Service Award recognizes persons that have helped to grow the United States dairy industry and are valued by cheesemakers as trusted partners.

Submit nominations for the 2021 WCMA Distinguished Service Awards by Tuesday, August 25.

David Carpenter of Chr. Hansen, Inc.   Dick Groves of the Cheese Reporter 

Vote for                   

WCMA Vanguard Awards

The WCMA Vanguard Award is intended to recognize cheesemakers or cheese manufacturing employees whose work helped to blaze new trails in dairy operations.

Submit nominations for the 2021 WCMA Vanguard Awards by Tuesday, August 25.

Carl Buell of Leprino                    Tom Everson of Grande Cheese Company

WCMA Babcock Awards

The WCMA Babcock Award is, of course, named for Stephen Babcock, the famed agricultural chemist and University of Wisconsin professor credited with developing a method to determine the butterfat content of milk, a test which helped to establish Wisconsin as a dairy leader. The award recognizes the contributions of those in education or affiliate organizations to partner with cheesemakers in the pursuit of dairy industry innovation and excellence.

Submit nominations for the 2021 WCMA Vanguard Awards by Tuesday, August 25.

Dr. Floyd Bodyfelt of Oregon State University    Dr. Norm Olson of the University of Wisconsin-Madison