Apply Now for WCMA Student Scholarships Totaling $19,000

Posted By: Grace Atherton WCMA News,

Applications are available now at for the Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association’s (WCMA) annual student scholarships. The application window closes February 9, 2024. In April, scholarships worth a total of $19,000 will be awarded to seven deserving applicants.  

“Whether they’re just beginning their college journey, working toward a graduate degree, or pursuing a technical career, today’s students are tomorrow’s dairy leaders,” said John Umhoefer, WCMA Executive Director. “We’re proud to contribute to the bright future of the dairy processing industry.”  

Two WCMA scholarships target students attending a college, university, or technical school in the United States, or high school seniors registered to attend a qualifying school next fall. Preference for these scholarship awards will be given to candidates pursuing degrees and careers connected to the dairy industry:  

  • WCMA Myron P. “Mike” Dean Cheese Industry Student Scholarship  

Two students will be awarded the WCMA Myron P. “Mike” Dean Cheese Industry Student Scholarship, worth $3,000 each. Any employee or child of an employee at a WCMA dairy manufacturing, processing, or marketing member company may apply. In 2023, this scholarship was awarded to Lizzette Lopez of Great Lakes Cheese and Tyler Schroepfer of Sartori Company.  

  • WCMA Cheese Industry Supplier Student Scholarship  

Employees or children of employees at WCMA supplier member companies may apply for the WCMA Cheese Industry Supplier Student Scholarship. Three students will receive scholarship awards of $3,000 each. In 2023, this scholarship was awarded to Josie Boyle of Chr. Hansen, Rainna Simone of Roehl Transport, and Samantha Hawkey of Kelley Supply.  

WCMA will also select two students to receive the Brian Eggebrecht Student Scholarship Supporting Skilled Trades in the Dairy Industry, worth $2,000 each. This award, named in honor of long-time Championship Cheese Contest Chairman and generous donor Brian Eggebrecht, who passed away last year, is open to students attending any technical school in Wisconsin, or high school students registered to attend a Wisconsin technical school. In 2023, this scholarship was awarded to Kaitlyn Rydzewski of ProActive Solutions and Nathan Nikolay of Nelson-Jameson.   Priority consideration for the Eggebrecht Scholarship will be given to applicants pursuing technical certificates, technical diplomas, or associate degrees that may lead to a career in the dairy industry. Unlike other WCMA scholarships, applicants for this award are not required to be connected to a WCMA member company or cooperative.  

Applicants for all WCMA scholarships must supply school transcripts, a letter of recommendation, and a completed application form. Forms are available online at or by request from WCMA’s Grace Atherton at (608) 673-5545 or 

Successful applicants will be announced in March 2024, with awards presented on April 17 at CheeseExpo in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.