Emmi Roth’s Tim Omer Elected to Serve as WCMA President

Posted By: Grace Atherton WCMA News,

Tim Omer of Emmi Roth has been elected to serve as President of the Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association. Omer will assume leadership on July 1, 2023, succeeding Steve Bechel of Eau Galle Cheese as he completes his two-year maximum term in the role.

As President, Omer will lead an executive team that includes Doug Wilke of Valley Queen Cheese as First Vice President, Mike Sipple of Agropur as Second Vice President, Kim Heiman of Nasonville Dairy as Treasurer, and Chris Renard of Renard’s Cheese as Secretary. All four were selected to continue in their leadership roles for the new fiscal year beginning July 1.

Four industry leaders were also selected to join the WCMA Board of Directors. Mathew Bartkowiak of Nelson-Jameson, Paul Bauer of Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery, Steve Doyle of Sartori Cheese, and Bob Greco of Cheese Merchants of America will begin their terms on the Board July 1.

WCMA sincerely thanks the outgoing members who will complete their maximum terms on the Board this year: Steve Bechel of Eau Galle Cheese, Craig Filkouski of Great Lakes Cheese, Mike Neu of Chr. Hansen, and Paul Scharfman of Specialty Cheese Company.

“It’s a privilege to have the thoughtful guidance and support of these leaders in dairy processing,” said WCMA Executive Director John Umhoefer. “We’re grateful to those leaving the Board this year, and we look forward bringing the four first-time Board members into the Association’s leadership body.” 

During the April 4 meeting to elect new officers, the WCMA Board of Directors also voted to expand the board from its current 21 seats to 27. The change, which reflects the Association’s unprecedented nationwide membership growth, will take effect beginning July 1, 2024.

WCMA membership is open to dairy processors, manufacturers, marketers, and suppliers nationwide. More information is available at WisCheeseMakers.org/Become-A-Member.