Nominate Industry Leaders for 2024 WCMA Recognition Awards

Posted By: Grace Atherton WCMA News,

Join WCMA in honoring dairy processing industry leaders by submitting nominations for the 2024 WCMA Recognition Awards. Please share the names of your nominees via by close of business on August 18, 2023 for the following awards:

The WCMA Cheese Industry Champion Award is given to industry leaders who, through their everyday business decisions, have created tremendous opportunity for others and spurred industry growth. Individuals to be considered are the CEOs, Directors, Presidents, or Vice Presidents of their companies. In 2023, Bill and Don Mullins of Mullins Cheese and Jim Sartori with Sartori Cheese were recognized with this award.

The WCMA Distinguished Service Award recognizes supplier partner members who have played a significant role in building the success of the United States dairy industry, contributing innovations in dairy manufacturing. In 2023, WCMA presented this award to Debra Cherney of Cherney Microbiological Services and Bob Fassbender from T.C. Jacoby and Co.

The WCMA Luminary Award, launched in 2021, recognizes the contributions of leaders in dairy product sales and marketing; individuals who introduced new concepts, products, or innovative ideas to drive sales in the U.S. or around the world. The 2023 recipients of the Luminary Award were Dennis Kasuboski from Alto Dairy and Masters Gallery Foods, and Stan Woodworth at Klondike Cheese Co.  

The WCMA Vanguard Award is reserved for cheesemakers or cheese manufacturing employees who are considered groundbreakers for their innovations in day-to-day dairy operations. In 2023, Tom Jenny with a career spanning Swiss Valley Farms, Specialty Cheese Company and Carr Valley Cheese, and Dan Stearns from Agropur, were presented with this award.  

The WCMA Babcock Award recognizes the contributions of those in education or affiliate organizations who partner with dairy manufacturers in the pursuit of dairy industry innovation and excellence. In 2023, this award went to Dr. Ed Jesse at the University of Wisconsin and Dr. Charles White from University of Tennessee and Mississippi State University.  

All nominations will be considered by the members of the WCMA Recognition Committee in September with final awards determinations made by the WCMA Board of Directors in December. Awards will be presented at CheeseExpo, set for April 16-18, 2024 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.